The Best Culinary Schools in the World

Explore Eduniversal's top-rated culinary and hospitality schools, from FERRANDI Paris to Le Cordon Bleu, with verified tuition, admissions and programs.

By Eduniversal · 11/05/2026

What Are the Best Culinary Schools in the World, According to Eduniversal?

Eduniversal's top-rated culinary and hospitality institutions cluster in two countries, France and Switzerland, plus one representative in the United States. Two schools, FERRANDI Paris and Institut Lyfe, hold the platform's highest 5-Palmes distinction in the gastronomy and hospitality field of its Arts & Luxury excellence category. This selection is not a worldwide census of every culinary school on the planet: it presents the ten institutions Eduniversal has evaluated and rated in this field to date, and says so plainly rather than implying a completeness the data does not support.

Eduniversal rates schools through its Palmes of Excellence system, awarding tiers of 5, 4, 3 or 2 Palmes based on an institution's influence, reputation and academic standing within a specific field, rather than ranking individual schools 1st, 2nd or 3rd. Within the gastronomy and hospitality field of the Arts & Luxury vertical, the ten schools covered here split into three groups: two hold the 5-Palmes distinction, two hold 4 Palmes, and six carry the separate "International Leader" or "Global Leader" designation without a numbered Palmes tier attached in this field (verified on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, July 30, 2026). Five of those six are hospitality management schools rather than culinary schools in the strict sense of the term. The list below groups schools by tier first, then alphabetically within each tier, never by individual rank.

Because Eduniversal rates by tier rather than by individual rank, two schools sharing a tier are considered equally strong within it. A prospective student comparing FERRANDI Paris and Institut Lyfe, both at 5 Palmes, should weigh program structure, teaching language and cost rather than search for a decimal-point difference in rank that the system does not produce.

How Does Eduniversal's Palmes of Excellence System Work?

Eduniversal's Palmes of Excellence system groups schools into performance tiers, from 5 Palmes down to 2, rather than assigning each school a single numbered rank. A school's tier reflects its standing within a specific field, here gastronomy and hospitality inside the Arts & Luxury excellence category, and several schools can share the same tier without one outranking another inside it (source: Eduniversal Arts & Luxury hub, verified July 30, 2026). Alongside the numbered tiers, Eduniversal also awards a separate "International Leader" or "Global Leader" designation to schools with strong global reach and reputation in a field. A school can hold both a Palmes tier and this designation at the same time, or the designation alone without a numbered tier, as several of the schools below illustrate.

For a prospective student, this structure means the system rewards a consistent standing in a field over time rather than a single year's survey. Schools with very different histories can carry the same recognition: FERRANDI Paris, founded in 1920, and César Ritz Colleges Switzerland, founded in 1982, both hold Eduniversal recognition in gastronomy and hospitality despite more than six decades separating their founding dates. Eduniversal has also published a longer explainer, Understanding the Palmes of Excellence: What Each Level Really Means, covering how each tier from 5 down to 2 Palmes is defined in more detail.

Which Culinary Schools Hold Eduniversal's Top 5-Palmes Distinction?

Two schools hold Eduniversal's highest 5-Palmes distinction in gastronomy and hospitality, both in France: FERRANDI Paris and Institut Lyfe, listed here in alphabetical order rather than by rank. For a school-by-school look at all five Eduniversal-rated French schools, including English-taught options, read the companion article on culinary schools in France.

FERRANDI Paris (France)

FERRANDI Paris holds Eduniversal's 5-Palmes distinction, confirmed on its Eduniversal ranking page, and is also designated a Global Leader in gastronomy and hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub (both verified July 30, 2026). Founded in 1920, the school runs a Bachelor in Culinary Arts and Entrepreneurship, a three-year program certified at Bac+3 level by the French Ministry of Higher Education (source: FERRANDI Paris, official program page, verified July 30, 2026). Tuition for the three-year track is 15,100 EUR net per year; students entering directly into year 2 or year 3 pay 15,500 EUR per year (source: FERRANDI Paris, official program page and fee sheet for the September 2026 entry, the latest published grid, verified November 5, 2026). Eduniversal covered the rating in its news article FERRANDI Paris earns 5 Palmes of Excellence.

Institut Lyfe (France)

Institut Lyfe holds Eduniversal's 5-Palmes distinction and is separately designated an International Leader in gastronomy and hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub (verified on Institut Lyfe's Eduniversal ranking page, July 30, 2026). Founded in 1990, the school offers a Bachelor in International Culinary Arts Management, a Bac+3 program worth 180 ECTS credits, taught in French or English, including a fully English-taught track (source: Institut Lyfe, official program page, verified July 30, 2026). Institut Lyfe does not publish its tuition fees openly online; the figure is only available by requesting a brochure directly from the school, so prospective students should confirm the current cost with Institut Lyfe rather than a third-party source. Eduniversal covered the school's rating in Institut Lyfe awarded 5 Palmes of Excellence.

Which Schools Hold Eduniversal's 4-Palmes Distinction in Gastronomy and Hospitality?

Two schools hold Eduniversal's 4-Palmes distinction in gastronomy and hospitality, both in France: Excelia Hotel & Tourism School and Ferrières Hospitality & Luxury Management School, again listed alphabetically.

Excelia Hotel & Tourism School (France)

Excelia Hotel & Tourism School holds Eduniversal's 4-Palmes distinction, covering hospitality, luxury management and gastronomy (verified on Excelia's Eduniversal ranking page, July 30, 2026). This subdomain classification signals that Excelia blends gastronomy content into a broader hospitality and luxury management curriculum, rather than treating culinary training as a stand-alone specialization. The school traces back to 1988, when the La Rochelle Chamber of Commerce and Industry founded the group that Excelia now belongs to (source: Excelia Group, official history page, verified July 30, 2026). Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub does not list a separate International Leader or Global Leader designation for Excelia, only the 4-Palmes tier itself. Eduniversal's news article on the school, Excelia Hotel & Tourism School redefines tourism education, adds more context on its approach.

Ferrières Hospitality & Luxury Management School (France)

Ferrières Hospitality & Luxury Management School holds Eduniversal's 4-Palmes distinction, confirmed on its Eduniversal ranking page, and is also designated an International Leader in gastronomy and hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub (both verified July 30, 2026). The school has operated from the Château de Ferrières since 2015 (source: Ferrières, official history page, verified July 30, 2026). Its Bachelor in Hospitality Management costs 13,500 EUR per year, while its eight-month Level I pastry course costs 11,500 EUR (source: Ferrières, official program pages, verified November 5, 2026).

Which Culinary and Hospitality Institutions Are Recognized as International Leaders?

Six schools in this selection carry Eduniversal's International Leader designation in gastronomy and hospitality without a numbered Palmes tier attached, at least within this specific field (verified on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, July 30, 2026). Five of the six are hospitality management schools rather than culinary schools in the strict sense; only Le Cordon Bleu Paris teaches cooking and pastry as its core discipline. They are listed alphabetically below, not by rank.

César Ritz Colleges Switzerland (Switzerland)

César Ritz Colleges Switzerland carries Eduniversal's International Leader designation in hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, while its own Eduniversal ranking page does not display a numbered Palmes tier for this school (both verified July 30, 2026). Like the other hospitality management schools in this selection, its core focus is hotel and hospitality operations rather than culinary training. The school was founded in 1982. Its current tuition fees are not published in a verifiable, up-to-date form; the only pricing document found dates back to 2021 and is outdated, so prospective students should confirm current fees directly with César Ritz Colleges Switzerland.

Cornell University, the Nolan School of Hotel Administration (USA)

Cornell University, the Nolan School of Hotel Administration carries Eduniversal's International Leader designation in hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, without a numbered Palmes tier on its own Eduniversal ranking page (both verified July 30, 2026). Founded in 1922 as the first four-year hotel management school in the world, it is the only institution in this selection based in the United States. Undergraduate tuition for the 2026-2027 academic year is 73,946 USD per year, as approved by Cornell in March 2026 (source: Cornell University, official tuition announcement of March 2026, verified November 5, 2026).

École Hôtelière de Lausanne (Switzerland)

École Hôtelière de Lausanne carries Eduniversal's International Leader designation in hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, without a numbered Palmes tier displayed on its own Eduniversal ranking page (both verified July 30, 2026). Founded in 1893, it is one of four schools in this selection based in Switzerland. Its Bachelor of Science in International Hospitality Management, which includes a preparatory year ahead of the three Bachelor years, totals 172,012 CHF in academic fees for international students across the full four-year program (source: École Hôtelière de Lausanne, official tuition and fees document, valid for the September 2027 and February 2028 intakes, the latest published grid, verified November 5, 2026).

Glion Institute of Higher Education (Switzerland)

Glion Institute of Higher Education carries Eduniversal's International Leader designation in hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, without a numbered Palmes tier on its own Eduniversal ranking page (both verified July 30, 2026). Founded in 1962, the school charges 35,000 CHF per semester of coursework at its Swiss campuses for its Bachelor's programs in International Hospitality Business or Luxury Business, or 36,500 CHF for the first semester (source: Glion, official tuition and fees document, valid for students starting in Spring or Fall 2027, the latest published grid, verified November 5, 2026).

Le Cordon Bleu Paris (France)

Le Cordon Bleu Paris carries Eduniversal's International Leader designation in gastronomy on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, without a numbered Palmes tier displayed on its own Eduniversal ranking page (both verified July 30, 2026). Founded in 1895, it is the only school in the International Leader group whose core discipline is cooking and pastry rather than hospitality management. Its Grand Diplôme in cuisine and pastry costs 60,000 EUR, which includes a 1,500 EUR registration fee as well as materials and uniform (source: Le Cordon Bleu Paris, official tuition page, price listed for start dates from January 2027 to April 2028, verified November 5, 2026).

Les Roches Global Hospitality Education (Switzerland)

Les Roches Global Hospitality Education carries Eduniversal's International Leader designation in hospitality on Eduniversal's Arts & Luxury hub, without a numbered Palmes tier on its own Eduniversal ranking page (both verified July 30, 2026). Founded in 1954, the school charges 33,450 CHF per semester in tuition for its Bachelor of Science in Global Hospitality Management at its Swiss campus (source: Les Roches, official tuition and fees document for international students, valid for programs starting in Spring and Fall 2027, the latest published grid, verified November 5, 2026).

Culinary School or Hospitality Management School? Comparison Table

The ten schools above split into two categories that a title like "culinary schools" can blur together: three teach cooking and pastry as their core discipline, while the other seven center on hospitality and luxury management, sometimes combined with gastronomy. The table below lays out that split alongside each school's country, Eduniversal distinction and flagship program.

School Country Eduniversal Distinction Field Flagship Program Language of Instruction
FERRANDI Paris France 5 Palmes, Global Leader Culinary arts (pure) Bachelor in Culinary Arts and Entrepreneurship 8 dedicated International Programs taught entirely in English
Institut Lyfe France 5 Palmes, International Leader Culinary arts (pure) Bachelor in International Culinary Arts Management French or English
Excelia Hotel & Tourism School France 4 Palmes Gastronomy and hospitality/luxury management Not specified in verified data 100% English track on the Paris campus (Bachelor in Hospitality)
Ferrières Hospitality & Luxury Management School France 4 Palmes, International Leader Gastronomy and hospitality/luxury management Bachelor in Hospitality Management Most programs delivered in English, alongside French-taught options
Le Cordon Bleu Paris France International Leader (no numbered tier) Culinary arts (pure) Grand Diplôme in cuisine and pastry Taught in French, consecutively translated into English; no French required
César Ritz Colleges Switzerland Switzerland International Leader (no numbered tier) Hospitality management Not specified in verified data Not confirmed in verified data
École Hôtelière de Lausanne Switzerland International Leader (no numbered tier) Hospitality management Bachelor of Science in International Hospitality Management (3 years plus preparatory year) Not confirmed in verified data
Glion Institute of Higher Education Switzerland International Leader (no numbered tier) Hospitality management Bachelor's program Not confirmed in verified data
Les Roches Global Hospitality Education Switzerland International Leader (no numbered tier) Hospitality management Not specified in verified data Not confirmed in verified data
Cornell University, the Nolan School of Hotel Administration USA International Leader (no numbered tier) Hospitality management Undergraduate program in hotel administration Not confirmed in verified data

The table also highlights a currency split that matters when comparing costs directly: French schools quote tuition in euros, Swiss schools in Swiss francs, and Cornell in US dollars, so a euro-for-euro comparison would require a currency conversion that falls outside the scope of the verified data collected for this article. Prospective students comparing schools across these three countries should treat each figure as a separate national benchmark rather than a single ranked price list.

How Much Does It Cost to Study at a Top-Rated Culinary or Hospitality School?

Verified tuition among these ten schools varies widely by currency, program length and structure: from 13,500 EUR per year for Ferrières's Bachelor in Hospitality Management to a full four-year Bachelor's program in Switzerland running into six figures in Swiss francs, with two schools, Institut Lyfe and César Ritz Colleges Switzerland, not publishing a verifiable current figure at all (figures verified July 30 and November 5, 2026, each with the latest grid published by the school). Because Eduniversal's Palmes tiers measure academic standing and reputation rather than price, tuition does not track directly with Palmes level: FERRANDI Paris publishes 15,100 EUR per year, while Institut Lyfe does not publish a figure, and several of the highest verified figures in this selection belong to schools with no numbered Palmes tier at all.

In France, published fees range from 13,500 EUR per year for Ferrières's Bachelor in Hospitality Management to 60,000 EUR for Le Cordon Bleu Paris's full Grand Diplôme in cuisine and pastry, which bundles registration, materials and uniform into that total (source: Le Cordon Bleu Paris, official tuition page, verified November 5, 2026). FERRANDI Paris sits toward the lower end at 15,100 EUR per year for its three-year Bachelor, or 15,500 EUR per year for students entering directly into year 2 or 3 (source: FERRANDI Paris, official program page, verified November 5, 2026).

In Switzerland, fees are typically quoted per semester rather than for a full program upfront. École Hôtelière de Lausanne's Bachelor of Science in International Hospitality Management, including its preparatory year, totals 172,012 CHF in academic fees for international students across the full four-year program (source: École Hôtelière de Lausanne, official tuition and fees document for the September 2027 and February 2028 intakes, verified November 5, 2026). Les Roches charges 33,450 CHF per semester in tuition for its Bachelor of Science in Global Hospitality Management at its Swiss campus (source: Les Roches, official tuition and fees document for the Spring and Fall 2027 intakes, verified November 5, 2026), while Glion Institute of Higher Education charges 35,000 CHF per semester of coursework at its Swiss campuses for its Bachelor's program, or 36,500 CHF for the first semester (source: Glion, official tuition and fees document for the Spring and Fall 2027 intakes, verified November 5, 2026).

In the United States, Cornell University's Nolan School of Hotel Administration charges 73,946 USD per year in undergraduate tuition for the 2026-2027 academic year, the only figure in this selection quoted in US dollars (source: Cornell University, official tuition announcement of March 2026, verified November 5, 2026). Two schools in this selection, Institut Lyfe and César Ritz Colleges Switzerland, do not publish a current, verifiable tuition figure: Institut Lyfe requires a brochure request to see pricing, and the only César Ritz pricing document found dates back to 2021. Prospective students should confirm current costs directly with each school's admissions office rather than relying on a third-party estimate.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best culinary school in the world?

Eduniversal does not name a single #1 culinary school; instead, it groups schools into Palmes tiers. Within gastronomy and hospitality, two schools currently hold the platform's highest 5-Palmes distinction: FERRANDI Paris and Institut Lyfe, both in France (verified July 30, 2026). Neither school outranks the other inside that tier.

Which country has the most highly rated culinary schools?

Among the ten schools covered in this selection, France has the most, with five institutions: FERRANDI Paris, Institut Lyfe, Excelia Hotel & Tourism School, Ferrières Hospitality & Luxury Management School and Le Cordon Bleu Paris. Switzerland follows with four schools, and the United States has one, Cornell University's Nolan School of Hotel Administration (verified July 30, 2026).

Do these schools teach in English?

Language of instruction varies and is confirmed for five schools in this selection, all in France. FERRANDI Paris runs 8 International Programs taught entirely in English. Institut Lyfe's Bachelor in International Culinary Arts Management is taught in French or English, including a fully English-taught track. Ferrières delivers most of its programs in English, alongside French-taught options. Excelia offers a 100% English track on its Paris campus. Le Cordon Bleu Paris teaches in French with consecutive translation into English and does not require French fluency to enroll (sources: official school pages, verified July 30, 2026). For the other five schools, the language of instruction was not part of the data verified for this article; confirming directly with each school's admissions office is the most reliable approach before applying.

What is the difference between a culinary school and a hospitality management school?

A culinary school trains students in cooking and pastry as its core discipline; a hospitality management school trains students to run hotels, resorts and hospitality operations. Among the schools in this selection, only FERRANDI Paris, Institut Lyfe and Le Cordon Bleu Paris teach cooking and pastry as their core discipline. César Ritz Colleges Switzerland, École Hôtelière de Lausanne, Glion Institute of Higher Education, Les Roches Global Hospitality Education and Cornell's Nolan School of Hotel Administration are hospitality management schools rather than culinary schools in the strict sense, while Excelia Hotel & Tourism School and Ferrières Hospitality & Luxury Management School combine gastronomy with hospitality and luxury management (verified July 30, 2026).

How much does tuition cost at these schools?

Verified tuition among these ten schools varies widely by currency, program length and structure: from 13,500 EUR per year for Ferrières's Bachelor in Hospitality Management to 73,946 USD per year in undergraduate tuition (2026-2027) at Cornell's Nolan School of Hotel Administration, with Swiss Bachelor's programs running into six figures in Swiss francs across their full multi-year length (figures verified November 5, 2026, each with the latest grid published by the school). Institut Lyfe and César Ritz Colleges Switzerland do not publish a current, verifiable tuition figure, so prospective students should confirm pricing directly with those two schools.